Faculty of Graduate Studies

Site Menu
News & Events

Three Minute Thesis - 2014 Eastern Regional Competition

2014 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 Eastern Regional 3MT Competition!

  • First place: Kirk Luther, Memorial University of Newfoundland, PhD Student, Department of Psychology
  • Second Place: Sherin Al-Safadi, Concordia University, PhD Student, Department of Biology
  • Third Place: Kyle Massia, Saint Mary’s University, Master’s Student, Department of History
  • Honourable Mention: Thérèse Chevalier, Dalhousie University, PhD Student, Department of Psychology and Neuroscience

About the Event

Dalhousie is excited to be hosting the first ever 3MT Eastern Regional Championships on April 24th, 2014 from 7-8pm, with a reception to follow in Rowe Room 1020 (6100 University Avenue). The event is free and open to the public.

Three minutes. Eight of Canada's best minds. The power of the spoken word. Competitors will present the complexities of their research in an engaging and accessible way before a live audience.  The 3MT concept has had widespread international popularity since it was developed by the University of Queensland in 2008. One take. One static slide. No props.

Finalists from competitions at English-speaking graduate schools in Quebec and Atlantic Canada will be competing for a cash prize and a spot in the national Three Minute Thesis competition, to be virtually hosted by the Canadian Association of Graduate Studies.

The winner of the 3MT Eastern Regional Championship will go on to compete in the National Championship.

We have an all-star judging panel made up of:

  • Olga Milosevich, Retired CBC Radio Host
  • Richard Isnor, Manager, Atlantic Regional Office, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
  • Jason Zhu, Ernst and Young, Manager, SR&ED and Business Tax Incentives
  • Dr. Elizabeth Church, Vice-President (Academic), Mount Saint Vincent University (alternate)

The event will commence with opening remarks, a welcome from the Dean of Graduate Studies, Dr. Bernard Boudreau, followed by the competition, and then a showcase of former finalists. The judges will make their decision, and award prizes, then we will close with remarks from Dalhousie's Vice President of Research, Dr. Martha Crago.